Spell To Gain Courage

If you find that your life is constrained by your timidity, or perhaps if you are facing a difficult and frightening situation, try the following spell that calls on the strength of the bull and boar to help you.

You will need:

• 6-inch (15 centimeter) square of orange cloth
• Red thread or ribbon
• Pinch of dried thyme
• Pinch of fried basil
• A few black peppercorns
• A few drops of orange oil

Lay out the cloth and sprinkle the thyme, basil, peppercorn and orange oil onto it saying:

“The strength of bull, the daring of boar
Grant me courage, now and more
Grant me bravery in my life each day
To follow my path and have my say.”

Tie up the sachet with the red thread or ribbon and keep it near you. Keep it in your bag or pocket, and place it beneath your pillow when you sleep. Every full moon, replace the herbs and oil. When the sachet has served its purpose, untie the knot and bury it.


from “Lammas” by Anna Franklin & Paul Mason