October Waxing Moon Esbat

Background
This ritual is a tribute to J.R.R. Tolkien. This is the Moon Before the Dark, but tonight we call it Isilnarquelie, the Moon of October. Narquelie, is an enchanting month. It is especially magic as we approach All Hallows. It is a time of dark evenings. The air is crisp and leaves crunch underfoot. Bare tree branches reach like silver hands toward Isil, the Moon. At this time of year we begin to draw closer to home as darkness enfolds us earlier each day. In times past when the harvest was finished, evenings were a time to gather with family and friends and listen to stories. Around the “tale fires” myths and legends would be shared. The gods and goddesses, and ancient heroes would come to life. This ritual includes a story.

October Waxing Moon Ritual
Moon Before the Dark

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles, one of which should be silver (for the Goddess) and one gold (for the God); Pictures, trinkets or any memorabilia from J.R.R. Tolkien’s work to decorate the altar (optional).

The Ritual
As you walk the perimeter of your circle say:

Isilnarquelie, Moon Before the Dark,
To the realm of Middle-Earth, this night I mark,
Remembering the light of the two trees,
By the holy faeries, sacred space I decree.

Walk to the edge of the circle in each direction and speak, then light its corresponding candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar for the Goddess and God.

I call to Formen, the North, and its power and strength. I call to the Dwarves, Durin’s Folk, masters of metalcraft; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Romen, the East, and its glory. I call to the Elves, the Eldar who bring learning and beauty to Middle-earth; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Hyarmen, the South, and its untrodden wilds. I call to the Hobbits, people of the Shire with joyful spirits; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Numen, the West, and its mysteries. I call to the Vanyar, first and smallest of Tol Eressëa across the Western sea; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Ilyaheru, Lord of All. Come, be with me as Laurelin, the Golden Tree and source of the sun. Aiya.

I call to Ilyatari, Lady of All. Come, be with me as Silpion, the White Tree and source of the moon. Aiya.

Charge of the Star Goddess
Starhawk version
I who am the beauty of the green earth and the white moon among the
stars and the mysteries of the waters.

I call upon your soul to arise and come unto me.

For I am the soul of nature that gives life to the universe.

From Me all things proceed and unto Me they must return.

Let My worship be in the heart that rejoices, for behold — all
acts of love and pleasure are My rituals.

Let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and
humility, mirth and reverence within you.

And you who seek to know Me, know that your seeking and yearning
will avail you not, unless you know the Mystery:

For if that which you seek, you find not within yourself, you will
never find it without.

For behold, I have been with you from the beginning, and I am that
which is attained at the end of desire.

Call of the God
Scott Cunningham

I am the radiant King of the Heavens, flooding the earth with
warmth and encouraging the hidden seed of creation to burst forth
into manifestation. I lift my shining spear to light the lives of
all beings and daily pour forth my gold upon the Earth, putting to
flight the powers of darkness.

I am master of the beasts wild and free. I run with the swift stag
and soar as a sacred falcon against the shimmering sky. The
ancient woods and wild places emanate my powers, and the birds of
the air sing of my sanctity.

I am also the last harvest, offering up grain and fruits beneath
the sickle of time so that all may be nourished. For without
planting, there can be no harvest; without winter, no spring.

Worship me as the thousand-named Sun of creation, the spirit of the
horned stag in the wild, the endless harvest. See in the yearly
cycle of festivals, my birth, death and rebirth — and know that
such is the destiny of all creation.

I am the spark of life, the radiant Sun, the giver of peace and
rest, and I send my rays of blessing to warm the hearts and
strengthen the minds of all.

THE MAGICKAL WORKING:

Continuing on with this months energy focus it is time to continue on with the idea of storytelling and the Moon Before the Dark.
Sit confortable with the purple. Focus on it. Fall into deep meditation. What does storytelling mean to you? How can you improve it? How does it give meaning to the virtues of your life? Look and listen.

Chant softly: She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
Changes, touches, changes, touches.

When you are ready, extinguish the candles in reverse order from which they were lit.

Ilyatari, Lady of All, thank you for the beauty and mystery of moonsheen. I will carry in my heart the memory of Silpion, the White Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Ilyaheru, Lord of All, thank your for the beauty and radiance of the sun. I will carry in my heart the memory of Laurelin, the Golden Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Numen, West, holy Vanyar, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Hyarmen, South, dear Hobbits, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Romen, East, blessed Elves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Formen, North, stalwart Dwarves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Facing the altar, say:
My circle is open but unbroken,
No longer sacred, this space I decree.
Words of wonder have been spoken,
In faith and unity, blessed be.
Laita.

