October Waning Moon Esbat

Background
This ritual is a tribute to J.R.R. Tolkien. This is the Moon Before the Dark, but tonight we call it Isilnarquelie, the Moon of October. Narquelie, is an enchanting month. It is especially magic as we approach All Hallows. It is a time of dark evenings. The air is crisp and leaves crunch underfoot. Bare tree branches reach like silver hands toward Isil, the Moon. At this time of year we begin to draw closer to home as darkness enfolds us earlier each day. In times past when the harvest was finished, evenings were a time to gather with family and friends and listen to stories. Around the “tale fires” myths and legends would be shared. The gods and goddesses, and ancient heroes would come to life. This ritual includes a story.

October Waning Moon Ritual
Moon Before the Dark

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles, one of which should be silver (for the Goddess) and one gold (for the God); Pictures, trinkets or any memorabilia from J.R.R. Tolkien’s work to decorate the altar (optional). Also: 1 black candle, 1 pink candle, Sage, frankincense or myrrh incense (for clearing)

Ritual Bath
Add salt to the water, or tie the following herbs in a small piece of cloth: hyssop, lavender and rosemary. Run under faucet.

The Ritual
As you walk the perimeter of your circle say:

Isilnarquelie, Moon Before the Dark,
To the realm of Middle-Earth, this night I mark,
Remembering the light of the two trees,
By the holy faeries, sacred space I decree.

Walk to the edge of the circle in each direction and speak, then light its corresponding candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar for the Goddess and God.

I call to Formen, the North, and its power and strength. I call to the Dwarves, Durin’s Folk, masters of metalcraft; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Romen, the East, and its glory. I call to the Elves, the Eldar who bring learning and beauty to Middle-earth; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Hyarmen, the South, and its untrodden wilds. I call to the Hobbits, people of the Shire with joyful spirits; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Numen, the West, and its mysteries. I call to the Vanyar, first and smallest of Tol Eressëa across the Western sea; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Ilyaheru, Lord of All. Come, be with me as Laurelin, the Golden Tree and source of the sun. Aiya.

I call to Ilyatari, Lady of All. Come, be with me as Silpion, the White Tree and source of the moon. Aiya.

As you inhale the aroma of the steaming herbs, visualize the steam breaking up any tension in your body, and exhale. Ask your body and spirit to release any thoughtforms that are not in accordance with your highest potential, and be willing to look at where you might be harboring doubt, suspicion, or fear. With each inhale, affirm that you are breathing in the healing energies of the Universe, and that you can transform yourself through meditation, patience and faith.

With each exhale, affirm that the outmoded thoughtforms are transformed into NEW ENERGY that can be utilized for growth. ENERGY is neutral, so it is up to us to REDIRECT it!

Light your white altar candles and incense. They are symbolic of peace, truth and protection. Meditate for a few minutes on what that means to you personally. Is there anything in your life now that is not in sync with your personal truth?

Light the black candle. The color black is an absence of color, and therefore ABSORBS… the black candle will represent the absorbing/transforming power of the dark moon, and as we work with it, imagine the pain or anger being pulled out of you and absorbed and transformed by the energy that is symbolized by the black candle.

Take a small piece of paper, and write WITH AS MUCH EMOTION AS YOU CAN MUSTER one thing you want to release / transform.

Light one corner of the paper, and immediately drop it into a flameproof / heatproof dish (a large ashtray or a ceramic pot with some soil on the bottom would be ideal).

Repeat with any and all emotions, fears, resentments, gripes, angers, resentments, excuses, obligations, etc. etc. etc.
Until you feel CLEAR! If you still feel bad, keep going for a while!

When you’ve cried, griped etc as much as you can stand, put out the black candle.

Light the pink candle. Put on your favorite music: something that makes you feel energized, happy and motivated! Now you need to focus on filling up the spaces left wher the old pain was! Time to fill it in with the AFFIRMATIONS of your choice…
Always write affirmations in the PRESENT tense! Keep repeating them over and over until you feel GREAT! BREATHE IN your new TRUTH.

When you are finished, put out the pink candle, and save it and the black candle until the next time you do this exercise. For maximum effect or serious depression or apathy, do this spell 3 days in a row (finishing on New Moon day).
When you are ready, extinguish the candles in reverse order from which they were lit.

Ilyatari, Lady of All, thank you for the beauty and mystery of moonsheen. I will carry in my heart the memory of Silpion, the White Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Ilyaheru, Lord of All, thank your for the beauty and radiance of the sun. I will carry in my heart the memory of Laurelin, the Golden Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Numen, West, holy Vanyar, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Hyarmen, South, dear Hobbits, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Romen, East, blessed Elves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Formen, North, stalwart Dwarves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Facing the altar, say:
My circle is open but unbroken,
No longer sacred, this space I decree.
Words of wonder have been spoken,
In faith and unity, blessed be.
Laita.

