October New Moon Esbat

Background
This ritual is a tribute to J.R.R. Tolkien. This is the Moon Before the Dark, but tonight we call it Isilnarquelie, the Moon of October. Narquelie, is an enchanting month. It is especially magic as we approach All Hallows. It is a time of dark evenings. The air is crisp and leaves crunch underfoot. Bare tree branches reach like silver hands toward Isil, the Moon. At this time of year we begin to draw closer to home as darkness enfolds us earlier each day. In times past when the harvest was finished, evenings were a time to gather with family and friends and listen to stories. Around the “tale fires” myths and legends would be shared. The gods and goddesses, and ancient heroes would come to life. This ritual includes a story.

October New Moon Ritual
Moon Before the Dark

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles, one of which should be silver (for the Goddess) and one gold (for the God); Pictures, trinkets or any memorabilia from J.R.R. Tolkien’s work to decorate the altar (optional).

The Ritual
As you walk the perimeter of your circle say:

Isilnarquelie, Moon Before the Dark,
To the realm of Middle-Earth, this night I mark,
Remembering the light of the two trees,
By the holy faeries, sacred space I decree.

Walk to the edge of the circle in each direction and speak, then light its corresponding candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar for the Goddess and God.

I call to Formen, the North, and its power and strength. I call to the Dwarves, Durin’s Folk, masters of metalcraft; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Romen, the East, and its glory. I call to the Elves, the Eldar who bring learning and beauty to Middle-earth; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Hyarmen, the South, and its untrodden wilds. I call to the Hobbits, people of the Shire with joyful spirits; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Numen, the West, and its mysteries. I call to the Vanyar, first and smallest of Tol Eressëa across the Western sea; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Ilyaheru, Lord of All. Come, be with me as Laurelin, the Golden Tree and source of the sun. Aiya.

I call to Ilyatari, Lady of All. Come, be with me as Silpion, the White Tree and source of the moon. Aiya.

Lady Moon, your light has just returned,
For the cycle of your power.
Maiden, mistress of new beginnings and youth,
Your light shine down upon the earth.

Upon night’s darkest cloak,
Let your mark be spread for all to see,
Glowing ever stronger in the sky.

Tonight let your powers of new beginnings,
Wash away the follies of last cycle.
Seep away my weariness and sorrows.
Fill me to the brim with strength and hope,
Replace faded dreams with new,
And give me the endurance to carry on.

Goddess in the sky, look down upon me,
Your Witch, Sorceress and Priestess,
In your presence, gathers here.

As the moon moves through its cycles,
May the blessing of the Maiden,
Remain strong and surround us.

In the name of the Threefold Goddess,
So mote it be.

Now is the time for meditation on your personal stories. What stories have had meaning for you? Why? What is there about the art of storytelling? No other work is suggested since the energy should be directed inward.

When you are ready, extinguish the candles in reverse order from which they were lit.

Ilyatari, Lady of All, thank you for the beauty and mystery of moonsheen. I will carry in my heart the memory of Silpion, the White Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Ilyaheru, Lord of All, thank your for the beauty and radiance of the sun. I will carry in my heart the memory of Laurelin, the Golden Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Numen, West, holy Vanyar, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Hyarmen, South, dear Hobbits, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Romen, East, blessed Elves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Formen, North, stalwart Dwarves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Facing the altar, say:
My circle is open but unbroken,
No longer sacred, this space I decree.
Words of wonder have been spoken,
In faith and unity, blessed be.
Laita.

