October Dark Moon Esbat

Background
This ritual is a tribute to J.R.R. Tolkien. This is the Moon Before the Dark, but tonight we call it Isilnarquelie, the Moon of October. Narquelie, is an enchanting month. It is especially magic as we approach All Hallows. It is a time of dark evenings. The air is crisp and leaves crunch underfoot. Bare tree branches reach like silver hands toward Isil, the Moon. At this time of year we begin to draw closer to home as darkness enfolds us earlier each day. In times past when the harvest was finished, evenings were a time to gather with family and friends and listen to stories. Around the “tale fires” myths and legends would be shared. The gods and goddesses, and ancient heroes would come to life. This ritual includes a story.

October Dark Moon Ritual
Moon Before the Dark

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles, one of which should be silver (for the Goddess) and one gold (for the God); Pictures, trinkets or any memorabilia from J.R.R. Tolkien’s work to decorate the altar (optional).

The Ritual
As you walk the perimeter of your circle say:

Isilnarquelie, Moon Before the Dark,
To the realm of Middle-Earth, this night I mark,
Remembering the light of the two trees,
By the holy faeries, sacred space I decree.

Walk to the edge of the circle in each direction and speak, then light its corresponding candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar for the Goddess and God.

I call to Formen, the North, and its power and strength. I call to the Dwarves, Durin’s Folk, masters of metalcraft; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Romen, the East, and its glory. I call to the Elves, the Eldar who bring learning and beauty to Middle-earth; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Hyarmen, the South, and its untrodden wilds. I call to the Hobbits, people of the Shire with joyful spirits; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Numen, the West, and its mysteries. I call to the Vanyar, first and smallest of Tol Eressëa across the Western sea; join me in my circle. Aiya.

I call to Ilyaheru, Lord of All. Come, be with me as Laurelin, the Golden Tree and source of the sun. Aiya.

I call to Ilyatari, Lady of All. Come, be with me as Silpion, the White Tree and source of the moon. Aiya.

Light the black candles and say:

The moon is dark.
She hides her face from humans.
Only women can know the true secrets of the Dark Mother.
Wise one, let me feel Your presence and power.
I need Your wisdom of releasing and removing.
If punishment be needed by those who work against me,
I leave it within your hands.
Move counter clockwise to the East and say:
Remove all negatives from my thoughts amd mind, Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit within my life.

Go to the North and say:
Remove all negatives from my body,
Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Go to the West and say:
Remove all negatives from my emotions,
Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Go to the South and say:
Remove all negatives from my spiritual life, Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Return to the altar and stand facing North.
Say :
I accept no negative thoughts, words, or deeds from others.
They ase destroyed by the powers of the Dark Mother.
If these negatives comefrom within myself, turn them into lessons of good.
Help me to become balanced, a true Goddess-daughter/son of light and wisdom.

Face the altar now. Write down on the paper negative things you wished removed from your life in reguards to the spiritual path you are on. Think of the December moon and get in touch with the darkness. Read each one out loud to the Dark Mother to release them to Her. Light the paper from one of the black candles and drop it into the cauldron and watch it burn and say:

I release these unto Your keeping.
Show me how to move beyond these negatives into a position of light and power.

Burn the paper until it is reduced to ashes. Raise your arms in reverence to the Goddess when the paper is finished and say:
Dark Mother,
Crone Goddess,
Wise and Elder One,
teach me Your deep mysteries,
the Ancient Goddess magick known to my foremothers and fathers.
Guide and protect me, Dark Mother.

Now would be a good time to mediatate and see what insight you may receive from the Mother. Bury the ashes of the paper somewhere off of your property.

When you are ready, extinguish the candles in reverse order from which they were lit.

Ilyatari, Lady of All, thank you for the beauty and mystery of moonsheen. I will carry in my heart the memory of Silpion, the White Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Ilyaheru, Lord of All, thank your for the beauty and radiance of the sun. I will carry in my heart the memory of Laurelin, the Golden Tree. I bid you farewell. Laita.

Numen, West, holy Vanyar, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Hyarmen, South, dear Hobbits, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Romen, East, blessed Elves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Formen, North, stalwart Dwarves, thank you for your presence this night. I bid you farewell as I return to my own realm. Laita.

Facing the altar, say:
My circle is open but unbroken,
No longer sacred, this space I decree.
Words of wonder have been spoken,
In faith and unity, blessed be.
Laita.

