November New Moon Esbat

Background
We have entered the dark of the year. Days grow cold and nights long. The earth begins her winter’s rest. The Crone beckons: “Come into the darkness, explore what lies within.” November is a time that is betwixt and between. We have passed through the gateway of Samhain into the dark of the year, and we await the rebirth of light—the rebirth of the Lord at Yule. This moon, the Moon of Descent, gives us the opportunity to descend within ourselves and find the inner realm. It is through this inner place that we can connect with other realms. Tonight we are going to visit our inner realm.

November New Moon Ritual
Moon of Descent

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Black altar cloth; Five black candles; A crystal ball or round scrying mirror; Acorns or hazelnuts; A small bell. Except for these things, the altar should be bare.

The Ritual
Take the crystal ball (or scrying mirror) from the altar and walk around perimeter of your circle saying:

Crystal sphere, the shape of Luna,
Deep your secrets lie within.
May I find the path to follow
For now t’is time to begin.
When you return to where you started, say:
The circle is cast. I have passed through the gateway between the worlds.

Go to the edge of the circle in each direction to speak and then light a candle. For the Goddess, stand before the altar.

Quiet caverns, deep places of the Underworld. I beckon to the spirits of North, of Earth, to join me in my circle this dark night.

Soft breath, still air of silent places. I beckon to the spirits of East, of Air, to join me in my circle this dark night.

Single candle, small flame that casts a soft light. I beckon to the spirits of South, of Fire, to join me in my circle this dark night.

A few drops, a small trickle that seeps below the surface. I beckon to the spirits of West, of Water, to join me in my circle this dark night.

Sister Luna, your pale sheen prompts us to be quiet, to be still, to listen. I beckon to you, join me in my circle this dark night.

New Moon

Lady Moon, your light has just returned,
For the cycle of your power.
Maiden, mistress of new beginnings and youth,
Your light shine down upon the earth.

Upon night’s darkest cloak,
Let your mark be spread for all to see,
Glowing ever stronger in the sky.

Tonight let your powers of new beginnings,
Wash away the follies of last cycle.
Seep away my weariness and sorrows.
Fill me to the brim with strength and hope,
Replace faded dreams with new,
And give me the endurance to carry on.

Goddess in the sky, look down upon me,
Your Witch, Sorceress and Priestess,
In your presence, gathers here.

As the moon moves through its cycles,
May the blessing of the Maiden,
Remain strong and surround us.

In the name of the Threefold Goddess,
So mote it be.

Now is the time for meditation on the inward side of yourself. No other work is suggested since the energy should be directed inward.

After speaking, extinguish the candles in the opposite order in which they were lit.

The pale light within the earth is mirrored by the soft light of the Moon. Sister Luna, I thank you for standing guard on my journey and for your presence this night. Stay if you will, go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Enchanted streams and underground pools. Spirits of the West, of Water, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will, go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Soft light that shines within the earth. Spirits of the South, of Fire, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will, go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Gentle air that follows the paths and fills the caverns of earth. Spirits of the East, of Air, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will, go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Quiet places, magical places that hold knowledge and wisdom from the deep realms. Spirits of the North, of Earth, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will, go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Ring the bell gently three times, and then say:
In faith and unity, blessed be.

