August Full Moon Esbat

Background
One of the themes is water. For our ancestors, water was vital to ensure a bountiful harvest, which would secure their future, their survival. This is true for us too, but if we have a drought in our area, food can be brought in (and usually is anyway) from other areas. Summer showers give us respite from hot afternoons, and water more than anything else, deeply quenches our thirst. In this ritual the chalice is used to enjoy a drink of cool, clear spring water.

August Full Moon Ritual
Moon of Delight

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles for the altar—four in the direction/elemental colors. Use brown or gold (color of ripening grain) for the God and black (color of rich fertile earth) for the Goddess; A Chalice; Spring water; 12-inch pieces of yarn in the four direction/elemental colors; You may want to mark the perimeter of their circles with objects that symbolize summer such as sea shells, a pair of sandals, sunglasses, etc. Decorative jars partially filled with spring water would also be appropriate for this ritual.

The Ritual

Walk around the perimeter of your circle as you say:
Joyous summer, day heart-free,
Ripening fields and shining sea.
Sacred space, I now decree,
Mother Goddess, I welcome thee.

Walk to the edge of the circle in the respective direction as you call each. After speaking, light a candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar to evoke the Goddess and God.

Hark ye spirits of North, of Earth. I rejoice in your verdant fields, orchards and thick forests. Tonight I light this green candle to symbolize the green earth. Spirits of Earth be with me.

Hark ye spirits of East, of Air. I revel in the stillness of warm afternoons when birds soar high to touch the clouds. Tonight I light this yellow candle to symbolize the bright, sun-filled sky. Spirits of Air, be with me.

Hark ye spirits of South, of Fire. I delight in long sultry days that unfold slowly to a symphony of cicadas that herald the sun’s path through the sky. Tonight I light this red candle to symbolize the glowing heat of summer. Spirits of Fire, be with me.

Hark ye spirits of West, of Water. I savor the sudden showers that quench the thirsty soil and refresh lakes and streams. Tonight I light this blue candle to symbolize the cooling gentle rain. Spirits of Water, be with me.

Lugh, Green Man, this is the height of your vitality. The full strength of your life-force is evident in all I see. Tonight I light this brown candle to symbolize the ripening grain. Lord of All, be with me.

Brigid, Demeter, your nurturing presence gives me comfort to enjoy the beauty that surrounds me. Tonight I light this black candle to symbolize the rich fertile soil of Mother Gaia. Lady of All, be with me.

Contemplate the importance of water. Fill your chalice with cool, clear spring water. Before drinking, say:
I partake of this life-giving water. Let it nourish my body and soul. Lord and Lady, thank you for the gift of this water.

For us in the 21st Century, water and summer are also linked but we mainly think about pleasure. We visit the beach or go swimming in pools and ponds. For us, summer is a time to relax and get outdoors. And so, we all have memories and joys associated with summer.

Many of these memories probably come from childhood when summertime seemed to stretch on forever and playing out of doors after dark was magic.

Think of what you enjoy most about summer as well as memories of special things and events. As you think of each summer pleasure or memory, take several strands of yarn in whatever colors are appropriate to an element or two related to it. Braid, weave or tie the pieces of yarn together as you think of summer. Create a web of summer memories. As you do so, chant:
“We are flow, we are ebb,
We are the weavers, we are web.”

When you are finished braiding and tying pieces together, hold the yarn and feel the power of the joy you have woven into this web of memories. When you are ready, lay it on your altar and say:
Lord and Lady, I offer you my joys and pleasant summer memories. Blessed be.

Use your usual method for grounding energy.

Walk to the edge of the circle in the respective direction as you dismiss each. After speaking, extinguish a candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar when addressing the Goddess and God.

Great Lady, thank you for your nurturing love and the joys of summer. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Great Lord, thank you for the vitality of these active summer months. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Spirits of West, of Water, thank you for your cooling summer rains. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Spirits of South, of Fire, thank you for the heat that ripens the fields. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Spirits of East, of Air, thank you for the clear bright summer skies. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Spirits of North, of Earth, thank you for the beauty of the land. I ask for your blessing as you depart. Stay if you will, go if you must. Farewell. Blessed be.

Take the yarn web and carry it as you walk around your circle saying:
Summer joys and memories glow,
But this season soon must go.
Let these warm thoughts stay with me,
As times goes on, so mote it be.

