May Dark Moon Esbat

Background
This is May, the time of opening, the time of blossoming. The world is gently wrapped in a sweet blanket of flowers. Fruit trees bloom and carry the promise of abundance to come. Newly arrived birds sing in the warmth of the strengthening sunlight. We do ritual in this soft part of the year to open our spirits to receive. Flowers, a gift from the Lord and Lady, beckon to our souls. Their endless varieties give us beauty and fragrance to enjoy. Some flowers, such as lavender, can be used for healing and others, such as geraniums, can be used to enhance the flavor of food. Like flowers, we are children of Mother Earth, and in this time of blossoming, we too need to open. Flowers are delicate and beautiful and serve to remind us that we need to be gentle with ourselves and to be able to find the beauty within.

May Dark Moon Ritual
Moon of the Faeries

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Enough cut flowers to mark the perimeter of the circle. The flowers need not touch each other and can be spaced at intervals that seem appropriate; A basket with several cut flowers; Six candles in pastel or early spring flower colors; A small cauldron; A bowl filled with marigold seeds; A small sachets that contain morning glory and moon flower seeds; A tape or CD of music for meditation (optional). Marigold seeds in a small shell.

The Ritual

With the basket of cut flowers, walk the perimeter (deosil) of your circle, placing flowers at intervals along the floor. When you arrive back where you started, say:
With these gifts from the Mother,
And the magic of the Sídhe,
I pass from on realm to another,
Sacred this space, I decree.

Face each direction as you speak, and then light a candle. For the Goddess and God, face the altar.

The snowdrop, white and green flower of hope and first to show that the earth is awakening. I beckon to the spirits of North, of Earth to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

The carnation, Sweet William, your delicate fragrance borne on gentle May breezes sweetens my life. I beckon to the spirits of East, of Air to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

The marigold, bright and cheerful as the daystar it follows daily across the sky. I beckon to the spirits of South, of Fire to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

The iris, watery blue with three inner and three outer petals is the messenger of the Goddess. I beckon to the spirits of West, of Water to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

The rose, king of flowers. It is said that as a spirit passes from this realm it can only be accompanied by the rose. I beckon to the Lord to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

The Lilly, symbol of hope and grace, represents the triple ideal. I beckon to the Lady to join me and sweeten my circle this night.

Light the black candles and say:

The moon is dark.
She hides her face from humans.
Only women can know the true secrets of the Dark Mother.
Wise one, let me feel Your presence and power.
I need Your wisdom of releasing and removing.
If punishment be needed by those who work against me,
I leave it within your hands.
Move counter clockwise to the East and say:
Remove all negatives from my thoughts amd mind, Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit within my life.

Go to the North and say:
Remove all negatives from my body,
Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Go to the West and say:
Remove all negatives from my emotions,
Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Go to the South and say:
Remove all negatives from my spiritual life, Dark Mother.
Let them bear no fruit in my life.

Return to the altar and stand facing North.
Say :
I accept no negative thoughts, words, or deeds from others.
They ase destroyed by the powers of the Dark Mother.
If these negatives comefrom within myself, turn them into lessons of good.
Help me to become balanced, a true Goddess-daughter/son of light and wisdom.

Face the altar now. Write down on the paper negative things you wished removed from your life in reguards to the spiritual path you are on. Think of the December moon and get in touch with the darkness. Read each one out loud to the Dark Mother to release them to Her. Light the paper from one of the black candles and drop it into the cauldron and watch it burn and say:

I release these unto Your keeping.
Show me how to move beyond these negatives into a position of light and power.

Burn the paper until it is reduced to ashes. Raise your arms in reverence to the Goddess when the paper is finished and say:
Dark Mother,
Crone Goddess,
Wise and Elder One,
teach me Your deep mysteries,
the Ancient Goddess magick known to my foremothers and fathers.
Guide and protect me, Dark Mother.

Now would be a good time to mediatate and see what insight you may receive from the Mother. Bury the ashes of the paper somewhere off of your property. Use your usual method for grounding energy.

Extinguish each candle, respectively, after speaking.

Lady of All, I thank you for the gift of beauty that you bestow upon the world. Each time I gaze upon a flower I will remember that your fair hand created it. I ask that you bless me as you depart to your realm of beauty. Farewell, dear Lady.

Lord of All, I thank you for the gift of mystery that you bestow upon the world. Each time a flower’s fragrance envelopes me, I will remember that you helped create it. I ask that you bless me as you depart to your sweetly scented realm. Farewell, dear Lord.

Spirits of West, messengers of the Divine, I ask that you bless me as you depart to your watery realm. Farewell, dear spirits.

Spirits of South, servant of the daystar, I ask that you bless me as you depart to your fiery realm. Farewell, dear spirits.

Spirits of East, sweetly scented breezes, I ask that you bless me as you depart to your airy realm. Farewell, dear spirits.

Spirits of North, life-sustaining foundation, I ask that you bless me as you depart to your earthly realm. Farewell, dear spirits.

Thank you for this gift which will be a reminder for me to be open and gentle as a flower. May these seeds of morning glories and moon flowers bring sweetness to my days and nights. Like morning glories, may I greet each day with freshness. Like moon flowers, may I find the power of Luna always within me. In faith and unity, blessed be.

