January Waxing Moon Esbat

Background
Summer is a fond memory and autumn’s splendor has turned dull brown and gray. The hardest part of winter lies ahead even though the days are lengthening with the promise of spring and renewal. But now it is winter. This is the time of year when many animals hibernate. For us, winter is the time for turning inward to take stock of our spiritual journey during the previous twelve months and to prepare for the year ahead so that we will emerge with spring’s life-force knowing where we have been and where we intend to travel. Now is the time to deepen your winter journey—your self-work. This night is the time to seek the place within you that is pure being, where you are both student and teacher. Learn to listen to your inner voice however it may reveal itself to you. It becomes easier to hear that voice as snow covers the ground and our world becomes a little quieter. Winter brings the power of silence. The light in our homes becomes a little softer as we may favor candles over electric bulbs on some evenings.

January Waxing Moon Ritual
Moon of the First Circle

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles for the altar; White altar cloth (the color of snow and ice); Stars, Christmas ornaments in the shape of stars, star-shaped glitter, etc.; Other symbols of winter that hold meaning for you; Athame or wand; Journaling book and pen (optional).

The Ritual

With your athame or wand, walk the perimeter of your circle saying:

The night is dark, the world is still,
Seeds rest beneath snow-covered hills.
Waiting for spring, I turn within,
To other realms, t’is time to begin .
I create sacred space with this first circle of the year.

Walk to the edge of the circle in each direction respectively as you speak, and then light a candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar to evoke the Goddess and God.

Hail, Spirits of North, of Earth wrapped in slumber. Below the snow and ice you rest and wait for the time of awakening. Be with me this night.

Hail, Spirits of East, of Air shrouded with winter fog. Your blanket of white brings a quiet stillness to the world. Be with me this night.

Hail, Spirits of South, of Fire warm and inviting. Keep alive the spark of life that sleeps within Mother Gaia. Be with me this night.

Hail, Spirits of West, of Water suspended like diamonds in winter’s icy hand. Hold your secrets until you flow again. Be with me this night.

Hail Lord of Winter, harsh and challenging. Your driving storms bring both beauty and danger. Your lessons I must learn. Be with me this night.

Hail Lady of Darkness, of star-studded heavens. Your crisp cold nights vibrate with the silvery gift of Luna. Be with me this night.

Charge of the Star Goddess
Starhawk version

I who am the beauty of the green earth and the white moon among the
stars and the mysteries of the waters.

I call upon your soul to arise and come unto me.

For I am the soul of nature that gives life to the universe.

From Me all things proceed and unto Me they must return.

Let My worship be in the heart that rejoices, for behold — all
acts of love and pleasure are My rituals.

Let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and
humility, mirth and reverence within you.

And you who seek to know Me, know that your seeking and yearning
will avail you not, unless you know the Mystery:

For if that which you seek, you find not within yourself, you will
never find it without.

For behold, I have been with you from the beginning, and I am that
which is attained at the end of desire.

Call of the God
Scott Cunningham

I am the radiant King of the Heavens, flooding the earth with
warmth and encouraging the hidden seed of creation to burst forth
into manifestation. I lift my shining spear to light the lives of
all beings and daily pour forth my gold upon the Earth, putting to
flight the powers of darkness.

I am master of the beasts wild and free. I run with the swift stag
and soar as a sacred falcon against the shimmering sky. The
ancient woods and wild places emanate my powers, and the birds of
the air sing of my sanctity.

I am also the last harvest, offering up grain and fruits beneath
the sickle of time so that all may be nourished. For without
planting, there can be no harvest; without winter, no spring.

Worship me as the thousand-named Sun of creation, the spirit of the
horned stag in the wild, the endless harvest. See in the yearly
cycle of festivals, my birth, death and rebirth — and know that
such is the destiny of all creation.

I am the spark of life, the radiant Sun, the giver of peace and
rest, and I send my rays of blessing to warm the hearts and
strengthen the minds of all.

THE MAGICKAL WORKING:

Continueing on with this months energy focus it is time to continue on with the idea of personal beginnng and goals during this Moon of the first circle.
Sit confortable with the blue stone. Focus on it. Fall into deep meditation. What have you found this year on your path? What do you hope to find? Look and listen.

Chant softly: She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
Changes, touches, changes, touches.

When you feel ready to end your ritual, stand in front of the altar when addressing the Goddess and God. Walk to the edge of the circle in the respective direction as you dismiss each. After speaking, extinguish a candle on the altar.

Lady of Darkness, of energy that moves me with the rhythm of the moon, thank you for your presence and guidance. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Lord of Winter, White Warrior of snow and winter winds, thank you for your presence and teachings. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Spirits of the West, of frozen Water that sparkles like precious crystal, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Spirits of the South, of Fire that keeps the icy chill from my bones, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Spirits of the East, of Air that catches my breath in wintry wisps, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Spirits of the North, of Earth that sleeps until spring calls, thank you for your presence this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. Hail and farewell.

Close the circle:
The first circle of the year is open,
But like the web of life, unbroken.
Through the winter may it sustain me,
In faith and unity, blessed be.

