April Waxing Moon Esbat

Background
Water, fons et origo—the source of all possible existence. It provides outward purification and serves to symbolically purify us within. Springs and wells are considered holy because of the power of spirit that resides there. They also serve as gateways between the worlds and are places to commune with the Divine. Like its opposite element, fire, water has the diametric powers to destroy or heal. In the ancient Goddess-worshipping cultures, the Goddess was portrayed as both woman and water bird and many of her symbols were aquatic. This mother, life-giving aspect was not only connected with giving birth, but also encompassed life-sustaining, nurturing and protective aspects of her being. In our over-bearing society it is important to emphasize and honor our abilities to nurture. It is equally important for men to do this. This ritual is intended to help you acknowledge yourself as a creator and nurturer.

April Waxing Moon Ritual
Moon of the Waters

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Gather water from several places or do separate visualizations to have water represent different sources you have visited. Before starting your ritual, place the jars of water at various points on the perimeter of your circle; Small bowl of water; An empty bowl; An empty pitcher; One cut flower; Six candles for the altar; A tape/CD of a waterfall or bubbling stream, or a trickling fountain (optional).

The Ritual

Take the small bowl of water and flower from the altar. Dip the flower into the water and sprinkle the ground as you walk around the circle saying:

Tempus vernum—springtime brings
Dewy mornings and gentle showers,
Trees in leaf and fragrant flowers.

When you return to your starting point, say:

From water I am born, with water I am nourished. Tonight I create a pool of sacred space with this precious element.

Face each direction as you speak and then light the respective candle. For the Goddess and God, stand facing the altar.

I call to the North, Realm of Earth. You are my foundation on this planet of great oceans. Your color, brown, represents the sustenance of the Goddess. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

I call to the East, Realm of Air. You deliver rain in gentle showers and stormy torrents. Your color, light blue, represents the nurturing breath of the Goddess. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

I call to the South, Realm of Fire. Your heat warms the water that flows across the world. Your color, red, represents the life-giving blood of the Goddess. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

I call to the West, Realm of Water. Your gift feeds me, soothes me, and washes me clean. Your color, dark blue, represents the protection of the Goddess. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

I call to the Lord, Manannan, Neptune, Poseidon. May the mysteries of your watery realm bring magic and strength to my circle. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

I call to the Lady Brigid, Boann, Aphrodite. The moisture of your womb gives life to the world, and your holy wells provide sustenance and solace. Be here this night to celebrate. I bid you welcome.

Charge of the Star Goddess
Starhawk version

I who am the beauty of the green earth and the white moon among the
stars and the mysteries of the waters.

I call upon your soul to arise and come unto me.

For I am the soul of nature that gives life to the universe.

From Me all things proceed and unto Me they must return.

Let My worship be in the heart that rejoices, for behold — all
acts of love and pleasure are My rituals.

Let there be beauty and strength, power and compassion, honor and
humility, mirth and reverence within you.

And you who seek to know Me, know that your seeking and yearning
will avail you not, unless you know the Mystery:

For if that which you seek, you find not within yourself, you will
never find it without.

For behold, I have been with you from the beginning, and I am that
which is attained at the end of desire.

Call of the God
Scott Cunningham

I am the radiant King of the Heavens, flooding the earth with
warmth and encouraging the hidden seed of creation to burst forth
into manifestation. I lift my shining spear to light the lives of
all beings and daily pour forth my gold upon the Earth, putting to
flight the powers of darkness.

I am master of the beasts wild and free. I run with the swift stag
and soar as a sacred falcon against the shimmering sky. The
ancient woods and wild places emanate my powers, and the birds of
the air sing of my sanctity.

I am also the last harvest, offering up grain and fruits beneath
the sickle of time so that all may be nourished. For without
planting, there can be no harvest; without winter, no spring.

Worship me as the thousand-named Sun of creation, the spirit of the
horned stag in the wild, the endless harvest. See in the yearly
cycle of festivals, my birth, death and rebirth — and know that
such is the destiny of all creation.

I am the spark of life, the radiant Sun, the giver of peace and
rest, and I send my rays of blessing to warm the hearts and
strengthen the minds of all.

THE MAGICKAL WORKING:

Continueing on with this months energy focus it is time to contiune on with the idea of your role as a nurturer and the Moon of the Waters.
Sit confortable with the blue stone. Focus on it. Fall into deep meditation. Focus on water, how it creates like you and how it gives life to all. Look and listen.

Chant softly: She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
She changes everything she touches,
Everything she touches, changes,
Changes, touches, changes, touches.

After speaking each part, extinguish the appropriate altar candle.

Lady of Water, Brigid, Boann, Aphrodite, thank you for the gift of life and for bestowing life on this beautiful world. Thank you for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Lord of Water, Manannan, Nepture, Poseidon, thank you for the magic that your watery realm provides. Thank you for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Powers of West, of Water, thank you for your sacred gift, and for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Powers of South, of Fire, thank you for the heat that warms the water, and for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Powers of East, of Air, thank you for bringing the rains, and for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Powers of North, of Earth, thank you for supporting the great rivers and oceans, and for your presence in my circle this night. Stay if you will; go if you must. I bid you farewell.

Walk the perimeter of your circle as you say:

River of life knows
Nurturing love flows
From deep inside me
With faith, blessed be.

