February Full Moon Esbat

Background
The growing light gives us hope, but there are still hard days of winter ahead. Even with the icy grip still upon the world, you feel the life-force awakening and know that your life must begin to quicken. Many things can unfold this year, but which way should you go? The Sabbat of Imbolg and the month of February are times for divination. This is the time of the “seer” within. This month is touched by the rowan and ash. The rowan tree brings magic and the protection of Brigid. As the Goddess who governs crossroads, Brigid can see all possible paths for the traveler. The ash tree is also associated with divination. It was upon the ash that Odin hung himself and from which he perceived the runes. This is why ash is frequently used as rune tiles. In times past, the wood of the ash tree was used for divination fires where one would scry the flames for images and signs. Finding an ash leaf with an equal number of sections on either side of the center vein is considered a sign of good luck.

February Full Moon Ritual
Moon of the Seer

Setup
Items needed for this ritual include: Six candles; Cauldron (made of cast iron or other metal in which you can safely burn things); A stick inscribed with the Runic alphabet. Cards with Runes and aspects/attributes for divination; Pencils and a small piece of paper; A set of runes to decorate the altar (optional); Wand or athame (optional).

The Ritual

Using a stick inscribed with the Runic alphabet, begin walking around the perimeter of your circle as you say:

Cold wind, skies gray,
Light grows each day.
Life stirs secretly,
Soul awakens in me.
By the powers of Odin and Brigid, sacred is this space decreed

Walk to the edge of the circle in the respective direction as you call each. After speaking, light a candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar to evoke the Goddess and God.

Come ye spirits of North, of Earth my foundation. Hidden in your belly are the secrets of what will be. You know where all seeds lie and wait to be sent forth. I bid you welcome.

Come ye spirits of East, of Air cold and invigorating. Your icy blasts keep the world in the grip of winter, yet you bring a hint of milder times to come. I bid you welcome.

Come ye spirits of South, of Fire my beacon through the dark of the year. Warm the earth and entice plants to part the snow. I bid you welcome.

Come ye spirits of West, of Water that feeds all life. Flow once again in swift, clear streams. I bid you welcome.

Come ye Lord Odin. In your sacrifice you found answers. Help me divine what is hidden within. I bid you welcome.

Come ye Brigid, Lady who knows all things. As I stand at the crossroads of the year, help me discern my path ahead. I bid you welcome.

Hold the runes or rune cards. Choose a one, and then say:

Odin, Brigid, I call on your powers to see the many roads ahead. Reveal to me my path. May I be blessed with the insight to read your signs.
Write the rune name and attributes on a separate piece of paper. Soften your gaze as you look at the rune name. Ponder its attributes and how they may relate to your life.

After the message of the card is clear to you, commit the information to memory. When you are ready, pass the paper upon which you have written the rune name through the candle flame, and then cast it into the cauldron. As you watch the paper burn, think of how the attributes will transform and manifest into your life. After your paper has burned, say:

Odin, Brigid, I thank you for your guidance this night. May I be touched by your blessings. As above; so below. Blessed be.
Use your usual method for grounding energy.

Walk to the edge of the circle in the respective direction as you dismiss each. After speaking, extinguish a candle on the altar. Stand in front of the altar to address the Goddess and God.

Brigid, Lady of the Crossroads, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with your wisdom and guided by your love. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Odin, Lord of Divination, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with your great knowledge and guided by your courage. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Spirits of West, of the Watery realm, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with the ability to flow with life’s currents. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Spirits of South, of the Fiery realm, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with the ability to find the beacon that illuminates the way ahead. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Spirits of East, of the Airy realm, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with the ability to rise above difficulties that may challenge me. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Spirits of North, of the Earthly realm, thank you for your presence in my circle this night. May I be blessed with the ability to remain centered and strong. Ere you depart to your realm, I bid you farewell.

Close circle:
My circle is open but unbroken,
No longer sacred this space I decree.
May the Blessed Ones guide my path,
In faith and unity, blessed be.

Take the ashes from the cauldron and bury them in the earth.

